ATHENA international logo

Women’s Impact, Inc. invites you to…

Nominate an outstanding woman for one of Greater Stark County’s most prestigious recognitions; the 2017 Greater Stark County ATHENA Leadership Award®.  All finalists, past recipients and the current recipient will be honored at a dinner March 23, 2017 at the Conference Center at Kent State University at Stark. The deadline for nominations has been extended. Please Complete the 2017 Athena Award Nomination Form and return it by October 23, 2016 to place your nominee into consideration.

The ATHENA Leadership Award® is presented to individuals who have attained and embody the highest level of professional excellence in their business or profession and devote time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in the community. What sets this award apart from other female-oriented recognitions is that the Athena puts great emphasis on a third component – the nominee must actively and have significantly assisted, or be assisting, other women in realizing their full leadership potential.

The ATHENA Leadership Award Program® is a signature event of Women’s Impact Inc. Women’s Impact Inc. exists to encourage woman to unleash their power to realize their full potential through connection, education and recognition. Impact provides an energizing arena for women of purpose and passion, women with a point of view, women who take pride in enriching their own and each other’s lives, women who support creating leadership opportunities.

The ATHENA International Awards® are administered by a non-profit women’s leadership organization based in Chicago, in partnership with licensed host organizations and sponsors. More than 6000 awards have been presented in more than 500 communities in the United States and around the world since the programs’ inception in 1982. Nominations are sought throughout the community and across professional sectors; the Women’s Impact Inc. recipient is selected by a diverse group of local community leaders based on the criteria noted. The Stark County recipient will then be entered into consideration at the international level.

Past recipients of the Greater Stark County award include Sandra Cleaver, elder care attorney; Dr. Para Jones, President of Stark State College; Mayor Cathy Catazaro-Perry of Massillon; Renee Powell, Clearview golf professional and Janet Weir-Creighton, Stark County Commissioner.

You are welcome and encouraged to have support documentation accompany your nomination form. Copies of press coverage, newsletter articles, event programs, etc. all help round out your nominee for consideration. We ask that you do not submit the actual news clipping, program booklet, etc. Rather, please make copies of these items and attach them to your submission.

Once your nomination is received the Nominations Chairperson reviews it and may call you with questions. Please be sure that every field is completed. All Finalists will be video taped as part of the presentation.

Information: Shelley Schweitzer, Women’s Impact Inc. Executive Director,